Thank you for your interest in my writing. My website is in desperate need of revamping, but I'll try to fill you in on what I have out and what is coming soon. Copies of my books can be bought directly from me (and you can have them signed and dedicated if you wish) from my store.

The start of a new epic fantasy debuts June 28th, 2016
What does it mean if a God can be killed?

Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between men and those they thought were gods changes forever. Now, only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer, Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom, and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over; the time of rebellion has begun.

Recently Released: Riyria Chronicles #3! Three times they tried to kill her. Then a professional was hired. So was Riyria.

When the last member of the oldest noble family in Avryn is targeted for assassination, Riyria is hired to foil the plot. Three years have passed since the war-weary mercenary Hadrian and the cynical ex-assassin Royce joined forces to start life as rogues-for-hire. Things have gone well enough until they're asked to help prevent a murder. Now they must venture into an ancient corner of the world to save a mysterious woman who knows more about Royce than is safe and cares less about herself than is sane.

They killed the king. They pinned it on two men. They chose poorly. Riyria Revelations Book #1 & #2.

There's no ancient evil to defeat or orphan destined for greatness, just two guys in the wrong place at the wrong time. Royce Melborn, a skilled thief, and his mercenary partner, Hadrian Blackwater, are enterprising thieves who end up running for their lives when they're framed for the death of the king. Trapped in a conspiracy that goes beyond the overthrow of a tiny kingdom, their only hope is unraveling an ancient mystery before it's too late.

A puppet is crowned. The true heir remains hidden.
A rogue's secret could could change everything.
Riyria Revelations Book #3 & #4.

War has come to Melengar and once more Royce and Hadrian are hired to make a desperate gamble and form an alliance with the Nationalists whom are fighting the Imperialists in the south. As the power of the Nyphron Empire grows, so does Royce's suspicion that the wizard Esrahaddon is using the thieves as pawns in his own grab for power. To find the truth, he must unravel the secret of Hadrian's past--what he discovers may end their friendship and break Riyria in two.

A forced wedding. A double execution. Two thieves have other plans. Riyria Revelations Book #5 & #6.

The New Empire intends to celebrate its victory over the Nationalists with a day that will never be forgotten. On the high holiday of Wintertide, they plan to execute two traitors (Degan Gaunt and the Witch of Melengar) as well as force the Empress into a marriage of their own design. But they didn’t account for Royce and Hadrian finally locating the Heir of Novron—or the pair’s desire to wreak havoc on the New Empire’s carefully crafted scheme.

Two men who hate each other. One impossible Mission. A legend in the making. Riyria Chronicles #1.

Hadrian Blackwater, a warrior with nothing to fight for is paired with Royce Melborn, a thieving assassin with nothing to lose. Together they must steal a treasure that no one can reach.The Crown Tower is the impregnable remains of the grandest fortress ever built and home to the realm's most prized possessions. But it isn't gold or jewels that the old wizard is after, and if he can just keep them from killing each other, they just might do it.

A woman is brutal beaten. Two thieves want answers. Riyria is born. Riyria Chronicles #2.

For more than a year Royce Melborn has tried to forget Gwen DeLancy, the woman who saved him and his partner Hadrian Blackwater from certain death. Unable to get her out of his mind, the two thieves return to Medford but receive a very different reception--Gwen refuses to see them. The victim of abuse by a powerful noble, she suspects that Royce will ignore any danger in his desire for revenge. By turning the thieves away, Gwen hopes to once more protect them. What she doesn’t realize is what the two are capable of--she’s about to find out.

Award-nominated sci-fi in the tradition of Heinlein, Asimov & Wells. He wanted to escape his problems. He wanted to see the future. He never considered what the future wanted.

Confronted with a painful death from cancer, Dan Sturges foregoes treatments to try an idea of his own. With nothing to lose but a few months of pain, Dan builds a time machine in his garage and pins his hopes on a future where his disease might be cured. How could he have known that what happens after he presses the button is more shocking than the eighteen car batteries he connected himself to?

A bit about my series

I want to take just a moment to discuss the works I have in series, as it can sometimes be confusing to people. First I should mention that my new series, Legend of the First Empire, has five books and all of them are written. The first book in this series will be coming out June 28th, 2016, and I don't yet have dates for the other four, but as soon as I do, I'll let you know. The titles of the books are: Age of Myth  | Age of Swords | Age of War | Age of Legends | Age of Empire. All five books are setup in goodreads so you can add them to your shelves now if you wish to be notified when they are released.

Then there is my Riyria novels. This series is currently nine books in total, consisting of two series: The Riyria Revelations and The Riyria Chronicles.  As if that wasn't confusing enough, the six-books of Revelations were initial self-published and are no longer available for sale. When re-published, Orbit made three, two-book omnibus editions which break down as follows:
  • Theft of Swords contains (The Crown Conspiracy & Avempartha)
  • Rise of Empire contains (Nyphron Rising and The Emerald Storm)
  • Heir of Novron contains (Wintertide & Percepliquis)
When I wrote the six books of Revelations, I followed the same process as with the Legends of the First Empire, which is to say that I wrote the entire series before publishing any of the books. This allows me to create a story with interwoven plot threads and a satisfying conclusion.  I didn't expect there to be any more stories with Royce and Hadrian, but pressure from my wife (who has a crush on Hadrian), and outcries from my readers, encouraged me to write the Chronicle books.  The idea behind Chronicles is to explore the origins of Riyria and show some of the adventures the pair had during the twelve years they were together before the start of Revelations. These books are being written in such a way that I can conclude the stories at any time if it appears that Riyria is overstaying its welcome. For this reason I never know if I'll come out with another Chronicle until after the last one is released. As for reading order, you the two series are designed so you can read them chronologically or in the order of publication. Personally, I prefer order of publication, but quite frankly I've heard enough feedback from people who have read either way that I an recommend both. So it's really a matter of your own personal reading preferences.  Here's a handy guide you can use when deciding which would be best for you.

Thank you for taking the time to learn about my books. If you haven't read any of my stuff and want to try some out for free, go to the Free Stuff tab and request one of the short stories I'm making available at no cost. Or, use the Read Sample buttons above to read the first chapter of the books.  I hope you find something to enjoy.